Welcome to the 14th Danish Music Award Folk Celebration!

By Morten Alfred Høirup |

Ever since 2001, the Danish roots and folk music scene has been celebrating themself by throwing a big party, giving away a few Danish Music Award Folk (Danish “Grammy”) bronze statuettes in a number of categories.

On November the 28th 2015, the award show will take place in the venue ”Absalon”, an old but newly restored church in the very center of Copenhagen.

In the 2015 version of the award show, you will find quite a number of nominates in 6 categories plus 2 special awards.

The categories are: ”Release of the Year”, ”Composer of the Year”, ”Song-writer of the Year”, ”Musician of the Year”, ”New Talent of the Year” and ”Traditional Music Award of the Year”.

The 2 special awards are: ”Folk Music Venue of the Year” and ”Tinglutiprisen” (10.000 DKR).

Amongst the nominates you’ll see pretty wellknown bands and artists, as well as upcoming names:

Dreamers’ Circus, Helene Blum & Harald Haugaard Band, Jonah Blacksmith, Basco, Jensen & Bugge + Høirup, Trio Svin, Shotbox, Elmøe og Hoffmann, Floating Sofa Quartet, Ditte Fromseier, Andrzej Krejniuk, MC Hansen, Rasmus Lyberth and many more.

The Danish Music Awards Folk is organized and produced by Folk Denmark, and supported by ROSA/Folk, DMF (Danish Music Union), DAF and DJBFA (Danish composers and songwriters) amongst others.

More info at: www.folkdanmark.dk



Like this Article? Share it!

Comments are closed.